PRAYER PAGES PROJECT

PRAYER PAGES FOR THE TROOPS, 2010

As you read this, my son, SSgt. K.G. Roberts, USAF, is home safely from Iraq. Last fall, when I realized he’d be away from his family for the Christmas holiday, I also realized thousands of other servicemen and women would be missing their families and that they would be missing from family celebrations. This inspired me to start PRAYER PAGES.

Although my son will be home with his family for the holidays this year, I want to continue PRAYER PAGES for servicemen and women who are away from their families. As such, I’m gathering well-wishes, prayers, thanks, and words of gratitude for our U.S. MILITARY FORCES overseas and in the U.S.

Even when our servicemen and women are here in the U.S., they are often away from their families – states away from their moms and dads, miles away from their sweethearts, days away from their brothers and sisters. And sometimes, they are continents away from their loved ones – for a year or more. Imagine your own son or daughter missing birthdays, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hanukah, anniversaries, Valentine’s Day, the 4th of July picnic. Imagine your son or daughter missing a son’s 4th birthday party or his first day of school. Or a daughter’s first communion or bat-mitzvah. Imagine a son or daughter missing the grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary or the annual family reunion.

What the project entails – I’ll compile words of encouragement from you and others and create a booklet. Submissions will be accepted from anyone within the U.S. I will compile all submissions in a Word or Publisher document. Please specify if you want your name, city and state included in the final printed copy. I’ll make as many copies as requested, and I’ll mail a copy of PRAYER PAGES to anyone serving in the U.S. military. I will urge all these servicemen and women that, once they read it, pass it on to someone who is serving with them. I will also make the entire document available via email for anyone who wants a copy.

What would you like to say to a U.S. serviceman or woman? Please, just take a few moments to type a thank you. Thank them for their service and sacrifice. Send submissions to me at

karenselliott@comcast.net

Leave a comment

Filed under For The Troops, Personal Articles, Special Events

Leave a Reply

