Minot, N. Dak. Flood-evacuee-blogger under water

Photo by Jayson S. Kennedy

I’m writing from temporary digs just outside of Minot, ND.

I’ve been a little busy this week … evacuating … so this won’t be a typical blog post. I’ve watched anxiously as my adopted home town
has gone from quiet and lovely to flooded with an ongoing threat of additional water coming from Saskatchewan. Not since 1969 has Minot been affected with catastrophic flooding the likes of which we are now experiencing. Expected inundations rival (and will probably exceed) those of the record set in 1881.

A picture is worth a thousand words. Or rather a thousand pictures are worth more words than I can come up with at this point – Facebook users can go to KX NEWS MINOT – there are hundreds of pictures there. The KX NEWS and KMOT NEWS websites provide further information.

You can also see www.wardnd.com and www.minotnd.org for information on evacuations, inundation levels, topographical maps, and so on.

I’d like to thank all members of the Air National Guard, the U.S. Army, and the U.S. Air Force for their service and dedication to duty during this frightening time. While I’m at it – thanks also to all service personnel like the Police Department, Fire Department, dump-truck drivers and heavy equipment operators, sandbaggers, volunteers … the list goes on. The fight could be lost, but there continues to be a hell of a fight!

***

Nobody knows better than another woman what sacrifices a mother will make and what distress she’ll endure to see to the family’s well-being. Mothers think more about their children – the kids’ happiness, hopes, and dreams – than we do our own hopes and dreams. And moms do it all without a thank you or an atta girl just to know their family is safe, well-cared-for, and content.

As such, I’d like to raise a shout-out to my daughter-in-law SSgt. C. Christine Roberts of the Air National Guard. She has given up loads of personal time with her family and has put herself in harm’s way to protect our Magic City – Minot, ND. She has sacrificed much to see to the comfort ofcomplete strangers, her neighbors, and her country.

***

God Bless Minot, ND.

Photo credit – Jayson S. Kennedy. Please see the Facebook page that Jayson shares with fiancé Tonya Davis at Tonya
Davis Photography
.

19 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles, Special Events

19 responses to “Minot, N. Dak. Flood-evacuee-blogger under water

  1. I heard about the Magic City yesterday on NPR. It certainly seems like a hell of a fight under way. Hoping for the best possible outcome.

  2. I was just reading about this dreadful situation in our local newspaper last night — feeling stunned that it was the first time I was hearing about this. It’s hard to imagine what you’re all experiencing in the midst of such uncertainty and anxiety, as I’ve never been in a similar situation and newspaper stories often have a way of leaving me with a sense of the surreal. Be safe, Karen. Abundant prayers winging your way ,

  3. Karen my thoughts and prayers are with you and all of Minot. May everyone remain safe.

    I second your expression of thanks to all who are fighting the fight against the raging waters.

    Judy

  4. Karen, my heart and my prayers are with you! I’ve also been watching this devastation unfold on the news each day. It is heart-wrenching to watch and I can’t imagine what it must be like to be living through it. God bless you, Karen. And God bless your family and the people of Minot!

  5. Continued prayers for you, your family, and the folks of Minot. And joining you in the “thanks” for those in service to your town.

  6. Karen, I’m sorry to learn of Minot’s devastation. Will your home be spared? It is good to know you have a personal tie to the workers – your daughter-in-law who has been putting in many hours with the Air National Guard.

  7. good god! i hope everything turns out ok! You can replace your property, but you can’t replace your life. I am glad for the evac, and glad that all the people are coming together to protect the homes, esp the military and government service personnel. JUST PLEASE STAY SAFE!

  8. Adding my admiration and appreciation for the brave folks you name, and hoping for the best for you, yours, and the people of Minot.

  9. So sorry to hear your home and town are suffering from the flooding. Hopefully everyone is safe. Know that you are in our prayers.

  10. Sean and I were talking about the flooding this week, and we’re both relieved to know that you’re safe! I hope you get to return home soon.

  11. karenselliott

    This is my first true experience with this sort of thing. It is surreal. I don’t know about my home (apartment). I imagine it will be toast – or more like cereal I guess. Thanks all for your thoughts and comments. My grandson Wayne this morning when we were looking at a picture of the water at the entrance to my neighborhood, “That water is going to go left and sink your house.” Ah, children. This river is causing problems all up and down the state and way up into Canada too.

  12. Stay safe Karen. Our thoughts and prayers go out to your and Minot.

  13. duane

    Thanks for the info, Karen. Our prayers are with all of you up there in Minot.

  14. So very sorry. To lose one’s home for any reason is horrible. Sending warm thoughts and prayers your way.

  15. karenselliott

    Thank you all for your comments. It’s been frustrating watching all the aerial shots and video taken from boats – they get CLOSE to my place, but haven’t seen a shot of MY PLACE yet. And let me tell ya, I’ve been watching a lot of video! The town is a lake.

  16. Though it is a horrible a situation, the relief we all cherish right now is that it’s really good to see your post come in and know that you are still safe. Continued prayers for all…

  17. karenselliott

    Thanks, JB!

  18. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve had to evacuate. I can’t imagine watching my home town flood. I hope things look up for you soon. Sending happy vibes your way 🙂

  19. RB – Thanks. It’s been rather uncomfortable to say the least. And not knowing if a cleanup is coming, when it’s coming, what’s destroyed, what’s able to be rebuilt … very frustrating. I do have insurance, and then there’s FEMA – they have been very attentive.

Leave a Reply

