A few tips from a blog groupie

It’s like two rocks in a stream clicking against each other under a rushing snow melt, two leaves falling off divergent trees, or two similar personalities in the blog-o-sphere. You meet someone and you click. For some reason – doesn’t matter why – it just clicks.

So it is with Stacy S. Jensen. Fabulous writer, great pay-it-forward pal, and she’s a mom. So you know she’s busy.

A couple of her recent blog posts include Our Stories about family, team building, and Smores! I love Stacy because she pays it forward, and you can see an example of this at Thank You Bloggy Friends. Check out Stacy’s article on adaptability in writing space, especially when you have children in the mix, at Where Do You Write?

Please welcome, Stacy S. Jensen.

A few tips from a blog groupie

By Stacy S. Jensen

I get around. Some people might say a lot.

Trust me, it’s not a casual thing. I’m focused.

I look for relationships one click at a time whether it’s on Blogger, WordPress, Twitter, or Facebook.

I began blogging two years ago during an online course to create a book proposal for a memoir. The class worked. I crafted a book proposal, but the blog didn’t stick.

This year, through a new blog I’ve connected with writers and people in ways I never imagined. My primary strategy: Visit other blogs and be part of the conversation.

Here are a few tips I’ve picked up along the way:

Why I visit:

  • Content and voice — Are you talking about something to help me or can I relate to your topic or situation?
  • A fresh perspective — I’m stopping by to hear what you have to say. So, what’s your opinion?
  • A flop — I don’t mind a dud post. You’re human. I like that about you.
  • End your post with a question to entice me to comment. Seriously, this encourages me to leave a thought or two.

What I strive to do:

  • Leave a comment, if I can move the topic forward.
  • Tweet your post, especially if I don’t comment.
  • Share your posts on Facebook and/or Twitter.
  • Remember your blog when someone asks:  What’s your favorite blog or do you know a blog that offers (fill in the blank)?

When I click away:

  • A “buy my product” push all of the time. I know you have a book or product. Make it easy for me to buy, but leave the when up to me.
  • Long videos — With a video, I can see how much time I need to invest in your site. If you have a 24-minute interview, write something about it, so I’ll know it’s worth my time.
  • Too many pictures in a wordless post. Really? And, why add words to a wordless post?
  • Time is limited. So, keep your posts short and don’t think you have to blog daily.

I don’t freak out as a reader when you step away from your blog to write. It’s OK. I’m not fickle. I’ll be there when you return.

Oh and make it easy for me to follow you via email, RSS feed or Google Reader. I like you, but I don’t want to work too hard to follow your every word.

What woos you or turns you off when you visit a blog?

Stacy’s bio: Stacy S. Jensen, a former journalist, is writing a memoir and learning the craft of picture books. She lives in Colorado Springs and can be found at her blog, on Twitter, Facebook or in your comment section. Visit Stacy at her About Me.

C. Hope Clark wrote in her Volume 11, Issue 34 of the FFW Small Markets about Twitter:

“As I recently told my Twitter friends: Become someone worth knowing. Then your book will become something worth buying.”  -Hope Clark

Photo Credit – Tracy S. Williams

17 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Guest Writers & Bloggers, Kid Stuff & Children's Books

17 responses to “A few tips from a blog groupie

  1. Fabulous post, Stacy 🙂 Might have to pop on over and follow a certain blog now….Thanks Karen for having Stacy as your guest. So much here that is useful – bookmarking time!

  2. Yes, agreed – bookmarking time!

  3. Great job, Stacy. Your blog is always informative and your voice is strong and positive. I agree with what’s been said before, yes, bookmark!

  4. Stacy S. Jensen

    Thanks Karen for letting me stop by. I can’t wait to have you over at my blog next week.
    And, appreciate you both Fandina and Tonia.

  5. Stacy, you put into words exactly what I didn’t realize I was thinking about! Great post!

    ~Debbie

  6. I read a lot of blogs, hundreds, but I don’t always post a comment (sometimes it’s just a time thing). Stacy’s tips are good to save. (SJ – working furiously on the guest blog!)

  7. the writ and the wrote

    Great post, Stacy. I agree with all of the reasons you visit a blog. One thing that makes me abandon a blog, though, is if it’s all perfect all the time. I get it: your kids are perfect, your husband is hot, your job is rad, and life is sunshine and rainbows. I sometimes wonder if some people EVER have bad stuff happen. Maybe they don’t blog about it, but really…

  8. Good point, “Writ.” Nobody has a fabulous day every darn day!

  9. Thanks, I really enjoyed your post. I find I do visit the blogs of people I ‘connect’ with, and look forward to our conversations. It’s about the social connection, not so much about promotion, for me.

    Nancy Lauzon
    http://chickdickmysteries.com

  10. Hi Stacy! I’m glad you introduced us to Karen’s blog – another great one to follow.

    I’m totally with you on videos. I thought I was the last holdout on those since so many people seem to be posting them (and obviously watching them). I’m a fast reader and a great skimmer, so I’d much rather peruse a written post. With rare exceptions, a video seems like too big of a time commitment, especially when you don’t know for sure if you’ll get anything out of it.

    Great post!

  11. Pingback: Connect through commonalities, learn through differences | Karen S. Elliott's Blog

Leave a Reply

