Mom and Bocelli

Mom introduced me to him several years before she died

And he comforted her throughout

He’s blind, you know, which I did not know

I loved to watch her, sitting in her favorite chair, body rocking, her eyes closed,

I imagine her still, mouthing the words she could not pronounce

Italian opera coming through speakers of her silver boom box

Before I left the coast, before she died

I bought two tickets instead of paying several overdue bills

She said, Dear, I haven’t been to a concert since the Dorsey’s

And I said, Well, we’re going

We drove to Philly and talked about mother daughter stuff

And listened to his words melt through my speakers

We had two tickets and two tuna sandwiches

At the over-under bridge, there was a back-up

and we started to laugh about needing a bathroom

and we agreed that you should not laugh when you need a bathroom

and then, of course, we laughed harder still

Inside, we sat above, mezzanine

And there he was, no more than from here to there

Before long Mom and I cried and held hands

Near the end he sang our favorite, Nessun Dorma

We squeezed hands and sobbed and soaked a pile of tissues

Through these eyes I will always see my mother.

Please listen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbGKQ8YASCY

15 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles, Prose & Poetry

15 responses to “Mom and Bocelli

  1. Beautiful, Karen. Sometimes we have to put aside the dull daily reality of bills to capture a piece of the ineffable now.
    A friend introduced me to Bocelli some years ago, and I’ve been grateful ever since.

  2. This is beautiful 🙂 He is truly amazing. What a precious memory to have of you and your mum together.

  3. Karen, I am so glad you and your mother were able to hear Andrea Bocelli in Philadelphia. Just last night my husband and I were among the thousands who stood or sat on the banks of Kansas City’s Brush Creek to observe the 2011 edition of Waterfire which was brought to Kansas City by Barnaby Evans who first installed it on three rivers in Providence, Rhode Island in 1994. The floating bonfires concept has been presented in Rome and Venice in addition to other U.S. cities. Getting to hear Kansas City’s opera tenor Nathan Granner belt out “Che Gelida Manina” into the crisp fall night air gave us chills.

  4. Karen that story is heart wrenching and heart warming at once. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  5. You and your mom have really good taste. He is such a joy to hear. I also love his Nessun Dorma. Wonderful smooth voice! Thanks for sharing

  6. Checked my e-mail and saw your blog — Bocelli — how could I not respond! What a lovely story about your taking your mother to hear him in person. A wonderful memory that will last forever, I love Bocelli, as well as when he and Sarah Brightman sing together. My husband and I are big fans of the opera and attend all the live Metrop HD performances sent live by statellite to the movie theaters — great experience if you haven’t attended. My husband’s uncle is a composer and has written contemporary operas. Great blog, now I can go to bed with Bocelli in my dreams!

  7. Thank you all for your comments. This one is especially dear to me. I still cry when I hear this song. And I listen to it often.

  8. Stacy S. Jensen

    What a great memory. I’ve thought about lost loved ones this morning and this uplifted my spirits.

  9. What a beautiful, story! I am deeply touched.

  10. What a beautiful story. My mother, sisters and I absolutely adore Bocelli and would love to see and hear him live. Whenever we are together it is always his music played. I’m lucky, I still have my mother but what a wonderful memory you have of yours kept together in his beautiful music and voice.

  11. Thank you, Kit. One of my favorite memories…

Leave a Reply

