The “Paint the Writer’s Wagon” Contest

The Trailer

Most boring photo – This has got to be the worst opening photo I’ve ever posted.

There goes the neighborhood – Wouldn’t it be fun to take a blank canvas and splash it with paint or apply a graphic design? Imagine something that would startle, surprise, or shock the neighbors.

The trailer – When I first saw the trailer I thought, “Now ain’t that cute?” I also thought, “It looks like every other trailer in the park.” Holy catfish, this is when the idea arrived.

Welcome to the Paint the Writer’s Wagon Contest!

The canvas – It’s a simple canvas – a rectangular trailer – white and blah.

Paint the writer’s wagon– The wagon (trailer) is the canvas.

How do I play along? – Apply a virtual design to the outside of my trailer.

Get to the rules, already!

Rules –

  • You can alter the trailer picture with trees, flowers, or a pink flamingo, but you cannot alter the shape of the trailer. You must incorporate the wooden steps in your design.
  • Print the picture of the trailer and apply any art medium or save the picture to your computer and have at it with a graphics design program.
  • On paper – Apply any medium – Use colored pencils, crayons, pastels, oils, water colors, markers, etc. If you can find it at Hobby Lobby, you can use it.
  • You have to be 18 or older or you must have mom or dad submit your entry.
  • One entry per person.
  • No need to subscribe to the blog (unless you want to). Just send a way-cool trailer re-do.

Submission – Once your design is complete, scan it or take a clear digital photo and send it to karenselliott@midco.net. Provide your name, contact information, and mailing address.

Imagination – Think outside the FEMA box. Amaze me! Tickle me! I am not looking for a plain ole white house with blue shutters and a picket fence. Don’t know what I like or what would impress me? Check out my Facebook info page, check out my blog, or take a look at some of my tweets.

The judging and voting process –

  • The top ten designs will be selected by a panel of judges.
  • These top ten designs will be posted to the blog.
  • Voting will commence.
  • You can vote for yourself.
  • One vote per person.

Judges –
SSgt. K. G. Roberts, United States Air Force (he’s my boy)
SSgt. C. C. Roberts, Air National Guard (fabulous daughter-in-law)
Wayne – six-year-old grandson
Shawn – four-year-old grandson
And me (Karen Elliott)

DEADLINE for entries December 1, 11:59 p.m. central time

Top ten designs will be posted – December 8 – Voting commences as soon as the gussied-up trailer pictures are posted.

Voting ends – December 15, 11:59 p.m. central time

Winner notified and announced – December 16

Why should I bother? Ah! The Prizes. The winner has a choice of one prize –
Set of two Kathryn Magendie books, Tender Graces and Secret Graces, signed by the author, or

Boxed set of The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

But wait, there’s more – The winning design will be printed poster-size and will be hung in this blogger’s office and a copy of said poster will be sent to the winner.

This just in! – If you are the winner, I will post your design on the blog along with links to your website, blog, books, Facebook page, Twitter, Google+, and LinkedIn profiles. Don’t have a blog or website? Give it a go anyway.

Thank you, Kathryn – A special thank you to Kathryn Magendie for participating in this contest. You can find her books at her website. Follow her on Twitter. Kathryn also blogs at Tender Graces and is on staff at the Rose and Thorn Journal with Angie Ledbetter, Cynthia L. Toups, Yu-Han (Eugenia) Chao, Cesar Garza, Patresa Hartman, Wil Hough, Founder Barbara Quinn, and a host of others.

Kathryn Magendie

You can find Suzanne Collins’s books here.

“The strongest nation on earth is your imagi-nation.”  ~Matt Furey

14 Comments

Filed under Special Events

14 responses to “The “Paint the Writer’s Wagon” Contest

  1. Very cool! Hope you get wonderful designs!

  2. Excellent contest, Karen!! I hope you are DAZZLED!!

  3. Nancy Bealmear Adams

    Wouldn’t it be nice if real FEMA trailers were transformed into works of art instead of landfill midden?

    • karenselliott

      I’d like to see that too, Nancy. There is a lot of trash and garbage piled on the curbs in Minot, and the flood was nearly five months ago. Hope you will participate!

  4. I’ve just GOT to enter this! Getting out the art supplies right now. I heart Kat too, so this contest speaks to me. Can’t wait to see the entries. 🙂

  5. Terrific idea for a contest. Sadly, I am lacking in artistic ability, or I would try it! 🙂

  6. I love this idea to jazz up the place just on the outside. I lack artistic ability, but love the idea of giving your place more personality. That white box just doesn’t seem to fit your personality. Of course, I’m thankful you have a more permanent living arrangement.

  7. karenselliott

    I can’t actually DO anything to the outside, but wouldn’t it be fun? A paint or design splashing party? No, the white box is NOT me at all. You do not need artistic ability – just some stickers or pictures of the A.F. chapel in your area comes to mind … ahem?

  8. Cannot wait to see the results!!

Leave a Reply

