An American Thanksgiving

International Week on the blog is in full swing. Niamh Clune contributed Paddy’s Green Shamrock Shore, and Heather Reid shared My Scotland. On Saturday, we’ll see Prem Rao and his incredible India. Monday it’s Susannah Friis with a laugh-out-loud piece on Australia. Our grand finale features photojournalist Tom Carter on China, including stunning photos and a photo-video presentation.

International Week has been an education and experience beyond my wildest dreams!

Grateful

I’m grateful I have a loving family. I’m grateful that I’m near my son, daughter-in-law, and grandsons after 4½ months of vagabond hotel-hopping. I have a roof over my head and a few bucks in the bank. I’m one lucky grandma.

I’m grateful for our U.S. Military and for the sacrifices they make every day. Let’s not forget them this holiday season. Take a moment and address one of your holiday cards to:

A Recovering American Soldier

c/o Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

8901 Rockville Pike

Bethesda, MD 20889-5600

Other ways to say thank you –

Soldiers’ Angels

Books for Soldiers

Operation Paperback

I’m grateful to all my friends – from North Dakota to Delaware, from Florida through the Carolinas and Pennsylvania and on up to Vermont and Maine, from Washington to California and through New Mexico, and all the states in between. And from other countries – Australia, Canada, China, Japan, India, The U.K., Germany, Antarctica. Thank you all!

I’m grateful for all the wonderful friends I’ve made online and that you continue to contribute to make this blog so grand. Even if you haven’t been a guest writer, you have played a part with your inspiration and support.

Bendithion (blessings) and Diolchgarwch Hapus (Happy Thanksgiving)!

10 Comments

Filed under Guest Writers & Bloggers, Special Events

10 responses to “An American Thanksgiving

  1. It was such a pleasure to participate in your blog, Karen! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving from the Blessed Isles to the shores of Americae (Irish pronunciation) rhymes with sailed away!

  2. We don’t have Thanksgiving here in the land of Aus but I’m thankful for you and your wonderful blog 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. karenselliott

    Thanks, Susannah!

  4. Happy Thanksgiving Karen! I’m just loving international week – I only wish it were a month. 😉 A great idea by an awesome lady! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your TG feast. ~Janet~

  5. Happy Thanksgiving! I’m so grateful you are able to be in one place now. I know that had to be stressful (we lived in a hotel for 4 months when we moved to Colorado … not pleasant even though it was by choice before we got settled). I’m loving these posts. And, grateful to know you. Hope you had a wonderful Turkey Day with the family.

    • karenselliott

      I’m happy to be “settled,” it ‘s still a work in progress. Missing my bookshelves and no place to put them in the new digs. 😦 Glad you are enjoying International Week! I’m grateful to know you, too, kiddo.

  6. What a very lovely blog. I am happy you have a home and family around you. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! And, I really am enjoying your international series.

Leave a Reply

