What to give a writer as a holiday gift?

The holiday gift-giving blogs and Facebook posts are starting to pile up in my inbox. And NaNoWriMo has come to an end.

I’m going to take advantage of both the gift-giving push and exhausted NaNoWriMo participants. Perhaps you deserve a special holiday gift.

Here’s the deal.

Reduced critique services.

That’s the pitch.

The special offer is $1.00 a page, double-spaced manuscript, up to 150 pages. $25.00 minimum.

What’s the fine print, you ask? I won’t do a word-by-word proofread and edit as I normally do, but I will give honest, constructive feedback on your story, your characters, its believability, the story’s construction, dialog, scenes, plot, and so on.

Didn’t do NaNoWriMo? No problem. The offer is available to anyone reading this blog.

Offer expires December 10, 11:59 p.m. (that’s USA, central time) or until my January calendar is full.

You can start the process here by leaving a comment or by email at karenselliott@midco.net.

See my recommendations on LinkedIn.

See my testimonials on The Word Shark website or at my blog.

***

“I try to leave out the parts that people skip.” -Elmore Leonard

“A metaphor is like a simile.” -Author Unknown

“I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.” – Steven Wright

***

The Paint the Writer’s Wagon Contest submission period has ended. Originally, I said that the top ten designs would be posted. I had just three so those entries will be posted on Thursday, 12/8.

Photo by Photobucket, Groningen-photos

Quote Garden

Brainy Quote

7 Comments

Filed under Editing & Proofreading, Special Events

7 responses to “What to give a writer as a holiday gift?

  1. Great idea. I look forward to the wagon entries.

  2. Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll keep it in mind.
    Also looking forward to the wagon entries.

  3. wow, this is great holiday gift. I’ll keep this in mind.

  4. karenselliott

    Thanks all! I was hoping for more entries in the Wagon Contest, but the three designs I got are awesome!

  5. Can’t wait to see the “wagons”!

    — and what a wonderful special! – I know the work that goes into editing!

  6. karenselliott

    The “Wagon” – even though I received only three submissions, they are all very imaginative and fun. The special Christmas deals continue to pour in!

Leave a Reply

