Hanukkah Memories, by Karen Pokras Toz

In my household, my side of the family celebrates Hanukkah. My husband’s side of the family celebrates Christmas. My husband and I collectively with our three kids, celebrate both. It’s important to me that each holiday is celebrated separately – with equal importance and wonderful traditions that my children can take with them.

As a child, I always looked forward to Hanukkah. My parents decided early on that in place of a Christmas tree, we would decorate a giant Menorah that my father made out of wood and an old bed bolster. Our Menorah was about seven feet tall and four feet wide. We would decorate it with tissue paper first and then hang Hanukkah cards on it that we had received over the years. I loved looking at the cards every year, and we were pioneers in recycling! We were the only house in the neighborhood (probably the only house anywhere) that had a giant decorated Menorah – it was a big deal.

Then we would move over to our smaller ‘normal’ sized menorah, where we would light the candles and say the prayers. I remember it was always coveted to be the one to light the candles (and usually resulted in a fight between my older brother and myself).

My aunt would always come over, and at some point, my parents would start bringing out the presents. In many households celebrating Hanukkah there is a small gift each night of the eight-night holiday. However, in our household, my parents would pile up gifts around the giant Menorah for a single day celebration.  That’s not to say I grew up in a wealthy household or was spoiled. In fact, I was neither. But my parents did want us to have gifts to open. I can remember one year in particular, my parents wrapped up grapefruit and oranges just to make the pile bigger. For us, opening was the best part.

The day of course would end with a great meal and a rousing game of dreidel.

I don’t know whatever happened to our giant Menorah, but I hope that my children are enjoying the Hanukkah traditions that we have incorporated into our family.

However you celebrate your holidays, I hope you find yourself surrounded by the people you care most about!

Nate Rocks the World,  by Karen Pokras Toz

Nate Rocks can do it all: part super-hero, part all-star athlete, part rock-star… part fourth-grader?

Ten-year-old Nathan Rockledge cannot catch a break. After all, life as a fourth-grader can be hazardous what with science projects to deal with and recess football games to avoid. Everyone, including his best friend Tommy, seems to have bad luck when hanging around Nathan. Throw in an older sister who is a royal pain, a dad who is stuck in the past, and a mom who keeps trying to poison him with her awful cooking, and poor Nathan’s life as a fourth grader appears to be completely doomed.

Armed only with his sketchpad, his imagination, and his wits, Nathan Rockledge navigates the perils of the fourth grade in style, to emerge heroic, as Nate Rocks, proving that even a ten-year-old can accomplish great things.

Karen Pokras Toz

Karen Pokras Toz is a writer, wife and mom. Karen grew up in Orange, Connecticut and graduated from Ithaca College with a degree in Finance. She also attended the University of Richmond, where she studied law and business, receiving both a JD and an MBA. Karen has spent the last several years working as a tax accountant, writing in numbers. She recently discovered a passion for writing with words. In June 2011, Karen published her first children’s novel Nate Rocks the World. She is currently working on the second book in the Nate Rocks series to be published in 2012.

Karen is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI), Association of Independent Authors (AIA), and the Independent Author Network (IAN). Karen enjoys gardening, cooking, and spending time with her husband and three children.

Connect with Karen on her website, blog, Facebook, and Twitter. You can find Nate Rocks the World on Amazon here.

8 Comments

Filed under Guest Writers & Bloggers, Kid Stuff & Children's Books, Special Events

8 responses to “Hanukkah Memories, by Karen Pokras Toz

  1. I also grew up in a bi-celebratory household, though we were considerably more secular. I remember feeling cheated as a kid when Chanukah overlapped with Christmas–morph into one holiday rather than 2. Still the spirit has carried over into my grown-up years, with menorah and latkes, Yule lights and Solstice cards….

  2. I love that you decorated a giant Menorah! We have a big one that we put on the front porch and its decorated, but I never thought of having the children help when they were little. I’m passing this on to my children so they can do it with their children. Happy Hanukkah!

  3. It is wonderful that you have been able to combine faiths and make each celebration special. What a wonderful way to educate children that love can be universal.

  4. Karen – thanks so much for including me in holiday week!

    Shawn – I agree – it’s hard when the holidays overlap.Usually we decorate our family room for Hanukkah & our living room for Christmas – that way the holidays each get their own display, even when they do share the same dates.

    Candie – I hope they do it – It was really something special to look forward to every year! My husband wants to make one for our house. I’m all for it!

    Thank you Yvonne – Yes – it’s a very important message.

  5. What a lovely and warm post, Karen. And your book looks wonderful – I’m always looking for books for my hb’s gc and my gd! (though only one is old enough to read right now!).

    Here’s to warm holiday thoughts and traditions . . .

  6. karenselliott

    What a wonderful, caring community we are. How I love to have guests on the blog. Thanks all for stopping by to check out Karen Pokras Toz!

  7. Cool! Interesting…To have to celebrate in two faiths!

Leave a Reply

