Add bling and panache to your writing space

On Friday, August 3, I posted A place for writing inspiration, making note of my poor writing space – it’s blah, completely uninspired, boring.

Do you need some ideas for decorating your writing space?

Here are some of the ideas posted on that blog by commenters DiAnne Ebejer, p.m. terrell, Abyrne Mostyn, Shawn MacKenzie, Jessica Pettengill Messinger, Tonia Marie Harris, Angie Ledbetter, J. J. Brown, Shirani Rajapakse, Susannah Friis, Kathryn Magendie, Elizabeth H. Cottrell, and Denise Hisey.

On or around the desk

Knick knacks (every time I say this, I want to add, “Paddy whack, give the dog a bone”) and mementos from family, friends, and vacations

Desktop image – use a themed picture to inspire you in your current project or change the image every day

A fresh flower or a silk flower in a vase

Seashells in a jar or dish

Print and hang colorful or inspiring images found on the internet

Colorful posters (use poster putty or popular non-marring wall hangers)

Hang a white board – draw new pictures on it every day

Tension rods – position them floor to ceiling, hang fishing line or wire between them, clip artwork, colorful fabric, family photos on the lines/wires

Postcards – buy them yourself or start an exchange program with friends and family

Hand-made objects from your kids

Colorful, lightweight fabric, sheets, or shower curtains tacked onto the molding to cover bland walls and spaces

Photos of family and friends – use ornate frames

Photos from vacations or day trips

Magnets!

Table cloth or colorful placemats on your desk

Decorative mouse pad (did you know you can have them custom made from your own photos at the local office store?)

Throw pillows, in bright colors and varied fabrics and textures

Throws on the couch, ottoman, chairs

Throw rugs

Faux fur – anywhere and everywhere

Unique rocks found on your walks

Plants and potted flowers

Room divider – tack/hang pictures, textiles, scarves, fabric swatches, or ornaments

Consider hanging wind chimes, dream catchers

String lights (no matter that there is no up-coming holiday)

Auditory and olfactory

Music – for background inspiration

Candles or scented-wax burners for olfactory inspiration

Bunches of fresh flowers

At, on, or outside the window

Window décor with suction cups or self-stick decals

Decorate the window sill

Window boxes with flowers

Lawn figurines

More wind chimes!

And, while stepping away from the desk

Take a walk in a garden, along a woodsy path, or in a downtown historic district or museum.

If you have a good view, sit outside with the laptop or with a pad of paper and a pen.

Take a camera for unexpected moments or scenes. Then print and paste the pictures in your personal space.

***

Karen S. Elliott was raised by a mother who wanted to be an English teacher and who worked for Merriam-Webster as a proofreader and an aunt who could complete the Sunday New York Times crossword in a day. Their favorite expression was, “Look it up!” Karen reads punctuation and grammar manuals for fun.

Karen is an editor and proofreader, blogger, and writer. Her short stories have been featured in The Rose & Thorn Journal, Every Child is Entitled to Innocence anthology, Valley Living Magazine, BewilderingStories.com, and WritingRaw.com.

21 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Editing & Proofreading, Personal Articles, Social Networking

21 responses to “Add bling and panache to your writing space

  1. Faux fur everywhere–Love it! 🙂

  2. Some nice ideas. As for me, I like to keep things simple. BUT, while I need my space to be separate from the ret of the house I still need to feel I am part of the whole. So what I did was to set aside a portion of a room in such a way that i can still see into the main house. It’s open concept, but still self-contained. That way I can see the things I love but not be crowded by them.

  3. I have some faux fur throws! 😀 One is so luxurious, I have it across my couch and cover up with it in the winter and fall – and in the spring and summer, I pet it *laughing*

    😀 such wonderful ideas!

  4. Can’t wait to see your renovated, colorful work space!

    • karenselliott

      I’m working on it, Angie. Right now, I’m just printing colorful photos and taping them on the walls. Also a few family photos and a couple photos of my writing icons.

  5. Wonderful ideas! I’ve done the best I can with what I’ve got, but I wouldn’t make Home and Garden any time soon. I love that my laptop desk looks out into the yard, where there is a big tree, and birds flitting around. However, most of the day I have to leave the curtains closed or else it gets beastly hot inside. That’s okay. That way I’m not distracted!

    • karenselliott

      I think I should print this list – for shopping! Afternoons can get beastly hot – I do the same in the afternoons.

  6. Well Karen, sounds like you have lots of great ideas for fabulous knick knacks! Lol! With friends like us who needs a decorator?

  7. Ooooh, what a fabulous list of ideas! I’m going to send this link to James Chartrand, Men with Pens. In her writing course, she has a whole lesson on creating a good writing environment.

    • karenselliott

      Isn’t it a great list? I can only take credit for a few items – the rest I collected and organized the ideas from the previous post’s comments – thanks to all my fabulous commenters.

  8. Love this list and thanks for including me in this piece. There are some brilliant ideas here. We are such a creative lot, lol. 🙂

  9. This is simply delightful! Thanks for adding my two cents worth to the list, and what a list. You can do a complete makeover of your space. Can’t wait to see the before and after photographs ! 🙂

  10. karenselliott

    Thanks, Shirani. It may take months (or years) for me to develop my new space. At which point, I’ll probably have to move again!

Leave a Reply

