A very military Christmas

Iraq, December, 2009 (Kenton is bottom left)

Iraq, December, 2009 (Kenton is bottom left)

All Air Force!

While gathering Holiday Week guests and posts, I saw a pattern emerge – all military, all Air Force people! My son is Air Force, so I’ll add my own Christmas story at the end of this Holiday theme week.

What can I do?

If you are wondering what you can do for our military members this holiday and beyond, it’s never too late.

www.soldiersangels.org

www.operationpaperback.org

www.booksforsoldiers.com

www.ebooksfortroops.org

Adam and Kenton in Iraq

Adam and Kenton in Iraq

Green Beans Coffee

And this one is so easy – it takes only a couple minutes – you can spend just $2 ($2!) and send a great cup of coffee to a service member overseas.

Connect with Green Beans Coffee on Facebook.

Photo by David Yaronczyk

Photo by David Yaronczyk

11 Comments

Filed under For The Troops, Special Events

11 responses to “A very military Christmas

  1. Thanks for making this so easy, Karen! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  2. karenselliott

    As a mom who had a military member away from home at Christmas, I really “feel” this. And I wonder about all the guys and gals who are stationed here in the U.S. but cannot be with their families during the holidays. I am so blessed to have my son at home, with his family (and me!).

  3. I’m sorry for people who are away at the holidays, thank you for putting together this resource list to make a path for giving cheer.

    • karenselliott

      There are thousands and thousands of our military away from home right now. Not just from the U.S. but from many countries. I bless them all.

  4. Karoline Stock

    Thanks for all you do, Karen. I’ll miss Adam this year (again), but I’m sure he’ll enjoy Christmas in Germany!

  5. karenselliott

    Ja. Deutschland ist genial. Wann gehst du? Frohe Weihnachten!
    Yes. Germany is awesome. When are you going? Merry Christmas!

  6. This is wonderful! I love the practical ways to let them know we’re thinking of them. The cup of joe is awesome! (especially from someone who lives in the land of Starbucks!) 😉
    I’ll be gathering up some books to ship off, too!!
    Thanks, Karen!

  7. Lovely blog Karen. I like to see support for the military. Another ogranization I support is Cell Phones for Soldiers and there is a site I purchase phone cards and have them sent.

Leave a Reply

