An Expected Journey, by Dorothy Dreyer

Dorothy Dreyer coverThis year in May, my dream of becoming a published author will come true. But this isn’t something unexpected. This is something I strove to accomplish. Something I wanted so much that I never gave up on it. A goal I kept running toward no matter what obstacles got in my way.

It wasn’t easy, though. My debut novel is actually the fourth book I wrote. The first three didn’t quite make the cut in the eyes of the agency gods. Or was it I who didn’t make the cut? The early, naïve, amateur version of me? Probably.

But the point is: I never gave up. I wiped away years of tears, swallowed rejection after rejection, and tried to get my breath back after those close calls didn’t pan out. And I just kept on writing. And learning and growing and learning some more. Because that’s what writers do.

And all the while I had one goal set: the peak of the mountain. I climbed my way toward it despite the rocks crumbling over my head and the slipping of my feet. I knew I could only get to where I wanted to go if I didn’t stop. Because if I stopped, I’d just let myself slip back down the mountain, perhaps occasionally looking up and wondering if I would have ever made it to the top or not. But I didn’t stop. I expected to reach my goal, somehow. And I kept going.

This journey was not unexpected. The twists and turns and ups and downs, perhaps. The ‘when’ of it was always a question, of course. But the journey itself was absolutely expected. And I’m almost there.

 ***

Dorothy Dreyer Author PhotoScloseDorothy Dreyer is a Philippine-born American living in Germany with her husband and two teens. She writes young adult books that usually have an element of magic or the supernatural. Aside from reading, she likes movies, chocolate, take-out, traveling, and having fun with friends and family. She tends to sing sometimes, too, so keep her away from your Karaoke bars.

Dorothy’s debut novel, MY SISTER’S REAPER, releases May 29th from Month9Books.

Connect with Dorothy on her official website, Facebook Fan Page, Twitter. You can also find her on Goodreads, My Sister’s Reaper on Goodreads, and at Month9Books.

19 Comments

Filed under Guest Writers & Bloggers

19 responses to “An Expected Journey, by Dorothy Dreyer

  1. This is really inspirational and you should be so proud of yourself. Well done on getting there. It is so important for each of us to keep following the dream no matter how long it takes you to get there. I will be putting it on my list of books to buy! Thanks for this great post.

  2. Well done, Dorothy, and congratulations.

  3. Congratulations, Dorothy! What a great journey you’ve been on!

  4. Very inspiring, Dorothy. I especially liked the climbing imagry of rocks slipping crumbling overhead and sliding underfoot. Some days it feels that way. Thanks and congrats!

  5. Congratulations, Dorothy! I look forward to reading your book and thank you for sharing your journey. What a wonderful way, along with my first cup of coffee, to start the day. You’re an inspiration and all the best to you. 🙂

  6. Heather Reid

    Congratulations, Dorothy! Thank you for sharing your story. So many writer’s give up. All it takes is one yes, right! I can’t wait to read My Sister’s Reaper.

  7. I know exactly what you’re talking about! We writers must have big enough egos to believe in ourselves, but smart/small enough egos to take the punches given from non-believers. Good for you! Keep on climbing that mountain, I know I am.

  8. Congratulations, Dorothy! Thanks for sharing your inspiring story. I’ll definitely keep an eye out for your book in May!

  9. karenselliott

    Wow, what riches of comments! Thanks everybody, and thanks Dorothy for fielding all the comments in my absence today. Way to go – on the book, the blog, and your journey. Never giving up, never giving up!

  10. Good Luck with your book Dorothy. I am so impressed with your tenacity. I am a strong believer in not giving up on your dreams.

Leave a Reply

