International Earth Week – by Lizi Beard-Ward

Hwy 82, LA

Hwy 82, LA

Having picked up a digital camera after years of painting and drawing, I find that I am still drawing and painting, creating electronically…pixel by pixel at times with a medium that has endless possibilities, and very addicting tendencies.

Lizi Beard-Ward

Lizi Beard-Ward

Many of my images are beginning to find their way to canvas…which should placate a muse that has stood in the sidelines for some several years…tapping her toes and tossing irritated glances in my direction…knowing full well that the brush in hand and feel of the paint will draw me back in finally.

***

Lizi and her husband live in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Fairly new to the area, they spend their time rambling, finding grand visions for her camera, savoring gumbo and boudin, and rolling to the lively rhythm of Cajun county. No place like it, Beau.

Connect with Lizi on her website and on her Facebook page.

Lake Martin

Lake Martin

Lacassine

Lacassine

Dauphin Island Sactuary Lake

Dauphin Island Sactuary Lake

Lacassine

Lacassine

Lacassine sky

Lacassine sky

Mystic Pool

Mystic Pool

Sunset

Sunset

Texas sky in July

Texas sky in July

Fogged Island

Fogged Island

Sacrificial Lamb

Sacrificial Lamb

29 Comments

Filed under Guest Writers & Bloggers, Special Events

29 responses to “International Earth Week – by Lizi Beard-Ward

  1. Beautifully ‘painted’ pictures. Digital cameras have gone a long way to allowing compositions to be corrected and changed without having to wait for developing to see the results. It’s a great medium to play with.

  2. Amazing photos, thank you so much for making my morning and earth day brighter!

  3. Thank you, and I agree. One image can digitally morph into hundreds. One can take subtle to sparkle! My mission with my art is to highlight my intense love of the natural world and that in some small way I inspire people to become better stewards of the planet. It is the only home we have. I appreciate your looking, and Karen for this blog giving me a chance to show my works, and to share a bit of that which is so very important to me. This week should be the most important week of the year to all of us.

  4. angie

    Lizi’s talents are many and varied. If you need commissioned art or a house/buidling rendering, she’s your gal!

  5. What a fabulous way to celebrate Earth Day with these magnificent photos. My husband is a native of southwest Louisiana, and these photos are a wonderful reminder of that unique part of the world.

    • Thank you Elizabeth. There are a lot more images of Louisiana including images from the SW wildlife refuges on web site. (liziward.com). I am so grateful Karen did this and that you took the time to write. ~Lizi

  6. Lizi, you really know how to see through a lense of a camera. I love the beautiful photographs you have taken.

  7. Chuck Parr

    Great job Missy. And to think, I knew her when she was just a ………..
    Chuck Parr, memphis TN

  8. I love all these, Lizi. Beautiful work. Where was fogged island shot? That is such a beautiful ethereal image…

  9. I knew I didn’t have to worry about being away from the blog all day – thanks all for commenting, and thank you, Lizi, for fielding all the comments. This is a great start to a fabulous week.

  10. Gorgeous, as always, Lizi!

  11. You have captured the colours of nature so well.

  12. The fogged island is so mystical and beautiful! It’s my favorite 😉

    • Thank you. We were on a boat one morning during our visit to Mount Desert Island Maine. The fog was hanging low on the water and we were were moving in and out of it. The smaller islands were shrouded one minute and visible the next. It was an amazing experience. I will never forget it.

      • I’ve never heard of that area before. Sounds very intriguing!

      • It is quite beautiful… There are images of it in my New England; thoughts and Small Prints; and some florals in the Nature folders on web site. Well worth the journey if you are in the area. We stayed in the SW Harbor area on the other side of the island from Bar Harbor. There are whale watching trips and boats that can take you out to two somewhat inhabited islands nearby.

  13. I love the color range of nature, and the movement in and out of color intensity. The camera can isolate the bits of amazing color…as well as the subtle. I tend to lean toward the more intense images. Thank you for looking

  14. I have spent some time in Maine, often on the coast. Lovely places, all up and down the coast. I love Bah-Hah-bah (Bar Harbor) and all the other little towns. Seems each had a lovely little downtown or harbor. The coast of Maine is beautiful for anyone who needs a vacation. Even the summers are comfortable (or at least they were for me).

    • Yes it is, and do take a boat ride of some sort very early in the morning, and the drive up to the peak of Cadillac Mountain is very special. The extraordinary view of the island, smaller islands and the Atlantic Ocean with Nova Scotia tops off a great drive up the mountain.

Leave a Reply

