Grateful

DSC02183

Being grateful

Last year I read a blog or article (I could kick myself for not writing down where I read this), that we should keep a Grateful List – little notes, written on a whim, kept in a dish, cup, or on a list.

I grabbed an Angry Birds cup and designated it my Grateful Cup.

My cup runneth over!

In just six months, I have so many Grateful Notes, I had to clean out the cup.

Dont’ forget the small stuff

We are all grateful for family, a roof over our heads, a good job, a nice car. But my Grateful Notes are small things – the small things that add up to a huge amount of grateful!

I’d like to share some of my Grateful Notes with you.

So…I’m grateful for

A beautiful sunrise

I can pay my bills

New kitchen and bath towels

I have everything I need to live a comfortable life

Juicy orange

Tai food

The neighbor pushing me out of the snow, out of the parking lot

A three-day weekend

Wayne asked me to go ice skating

I can still ice skate

A warm weekend – it’s in the 30s!

New underwear

Vodka cocktailDSC02189

I can make nacho chips from tortillas

I had my office swept

A washer/dryer in my apartment

Five days off in a row

The neighbor put out the garbage

It’s not -50 today

Grandson Shawn (5 y.o.) who has guts. When I tell him, “I’m not going to argue with you,” and he says, “Why not?”

I met another artist today

It’s sunny, even though it’s 30 degrees

I found the perfect shower curtain

Zucchini

My son continues his service to his country

A Phillies game on FSN

The crock-pot Tina gave me

Grandson Wayne (7 y.o.) covering me with a blanket while I’m napping

What are you grateful for?

18 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles

18 responses to “Grateful

  1. Carter, Sanji, Poe, Parker, Gatsby, Siggy, Soyer, Spike, Schroeder, Sundance, Sagan, Saki, Bubble & Squeak, Gonzo and Tuck, Ratcliff and Finn. No more DOMA, friends, family, and the entire state of Vermont.

  2. Love this post 🙂
    I’m grateful for socks (it’s cold here!), coffee, notes that I find on my pillow that simply say ‘I love you’, my dog who thinks I’m the best thing ever, pens that work when you need them to, a hot shower, chicos, handcream, flannelette sheets, boots, scarves, text messages, leftover tea nights. And many, many more. Oh and friends…including ones that live all the way over in the US of A 🙂 x

  3. Looking forward to a wheelie bin ride! Fosters!

  4. We do have so much to be grateful for. I love the idea of a gratitude cup. Thanks for the reminder. Grandchildren being on the top of the list. I’m off to visit them in a couple of days!

  5. Brilliant! It’s a great idea, and you have a great list, and the very last one…soooo cute!

  6. Me, I”d have to say I’m grateful for the great support from family and friends after losing my wife ( careless I know) and for great blogs like this that remind me the little things count. xxx Hugs xxx

  7. Having grandchildren certainly tops the list – and it’s all the small things they do that makes being a MoMo so wonderful. Thanks for the shout-out on your blog David!

  8. Your grateful list gave me a warm fuzzy feeling. And I LOVE feeling warm and fuzzy – that’s one of the items on my grateful list. I’m grateful that I’ve met amazing writers/bloggers like you out there ‘in the universe,’ sharing, caring, daring to be honest through it all.

    • I’m glad I was able to give you a warm fussy, Pamela! I was getting all warm and fuzzy reading all these little notes…and remembering. Thank you for your warm comments.

  9. Karen, I’m grateful for blogging friends like you. I’ve been toying with the idea of a new blog about those moments in time that change our lives. Thanks to you, and knees that are too sore to do any more weeding for a while, I may actually get that show on the road!

    • Well, now that you are back from the Great American Road Trip, you need a new thread! Glad I could inspire you. I enjoy your writing, and would love to see a blog about special moments. There are so many special (and small) moments – we just need to recognize them.

  10. Great idea, Karen! I love this -may just have to find a jar and sit it on the counter!
    I’m grateful for quiet moments oustide by the pond, a letter in the mail, freshly mowed lawn, puppy breath, baby kisses, taking a walk, riding my motorcycle again.

Leave a Reply

