Me? Writer’s block? Never!

img005 (4)

Painful Process

by Karen R. Sanderson

 

Can’t write

I’m blank

Last typed

It stank

Sitting here

Fingers quiet

Cursor blinks

Creative diet

Tapping keyboard

Marking time

Can’t make

Deadline

Fingers stiff

Head full

Imagination

Set to lull

Beers swilled, shots tossed

Slouching now

Completely lost

Laptop

Slammed closed

Deadline missed

I’m hosed

Grab pen

Ink to page

No sense

Growing rage

Rip it up

Start fresh

Stanzas done

Still a mess

Note to self

Bury head

Give it up

Go to bed.

19 Comments

Filed under Prose & Poetry

19 responses to “Me? Writer’s block? Never!

  1. Maybe what you need is to start fresh on this new day? 😉

  2. It can’t be true
    – not for you!
    Feel the love
    From far above.
    We who follow think you’re a hoot
    What ever is wrong you’ll find the root.
    So you did your best
    It’s good to get rest.
    And about those shots taken
    We’ll see how you feel when you awaken.
    A proper sonnet this is not
    Pay no mind I gave it a shot.

  3. How on earth
    Can anyone top
    Mickey’s reply??
    Not I.

  4. Wow, after Karen and Mickey, the rest of us are toast…:-)

    Seriously, though, I’ll never forget in grade school that I’d be up late trying to memorize a spelling list. My father, knowing it was hopeless when I was tired, promised to wake me up early to do it in the morning when I was fresh. He was always right, but it was so darned hard to let go and go to bed!

    Still is…

    • karenrsanderson

      I find I am much better at all things in the morning – I get up by 4:30 a.m. to take advantage of it. But then don’t ask me to do much after 4:00 p.m.!

  5. Paulie

    Love it, love it, love it.

  6. I’ll just say, know the feeling well. Hope it’s soon over for you.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • karenrsanderson

      Depends on what day you ask me. I didn’t write this poem this morning, but I got a lot of other tasks done.

  7. WONDERFUL! FUNNY! PAINFUL! TRUTHFUL! LOVED IT!!!
    P.S. Can I share this with my creative writing class??

  8. Audrey Keith

    Been there, done that. Not fun. And I usually don’t get a lot of other stuff done, either.

  9. 😉 You are hilarious Karen!
    That is the best case of writer’s block I can think of!

Leave a Reply

