When I was 7 years old

img003 (4)About 50 years ago, when I was 7 years old, I saw myself as a ballerina. A cowgirl. A champion figure skater. I was the apple of my Mother’s eye. I didn’t give a lick about my life except what was right in front of me.

About 40 years ago, I was 17. I was the captain of my high school color guard. I was nearing the end of my high school years. I was wondering what I wanted to do with my life.H.S. Color Guard

About 30 years ago, I was 27. I was the mother of a 6 year old and the victim of a horrible divorce. I was wondering what I wanted to do with my life.

About 20 years ago. I was 37. I was the mother of a teenager and recovering from my second divorce and wondering what I wanted to do with my life.

img004About 10 years ago, I was 47 and divorcing my third husband because he wanted to take me away from my first grandchild (see ya later, dude!). I was still wondering what I wanted to do with my life.DSC01325

And last year, on my 57th birthday, I was thinking how lucky I am to have made all those stupid decisions. And I am doing exactly what I want to do with my life.

What were you doing 20, 30, 40, 50, or 60 years ago? What do you take away from this article?

24 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles

24 responses to “When I was 7 years old

  1. A weirdly wild journey, looking back along our paths. So glad you are where you are, lucky indeed.

  2. At 7, I was gangly with long braids and a bunch of friends. At 17 I was taller than all the boys, socially awkward, trying to help my parents survive. At 27 I had survived both their deaths, three years of depression, was married and pregnant but didn’t know it yet. For the next 40 years I lived happily ever after. If you buy that, I have a beach house in the desert I’ll sell ya. Some was good, some not so. At 67, I jumped into my little blue car and drove to California. From Virginia. Took a month. Had a lot of friends to see along the way. The next chapter isn’t written yet, but I’m working on the outline.

    • karenrsanderson

      You have been through a lot!! How much for the beach house? 🙂 Life is such a journey, isn’t it? If you had asked me 10 or 20 years ago where I pictured myself, it certainly wouldn’t be anything like what it really is now.

  3. I divorced about 30+ years ago and managed to stand on my own two feet. I am grateful for my daughter who I managed to rescue from the disaster. I can’t imagine life without her or my now grandchildren. I guess, in the end, I got what I really wanted. 😀 ❤

  4. You married 3 very stupid men to let you go Karen. I wish you’d known the happiness in marriage I knew but at least you know the joy of being close to your daughter and grandchild that I also have.I’m 64 now and he’s 18 months old and making me feel younger.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    • karenrsanderson

      Yeah, three idiots, David. I guess happily married just wasn’t in my cards. But I find great happiness with my family. Grandchild of 18 months – what fun! I love being a grandmother.

  5. A winding road to be sure. I think one of the blessings of being our age is the ability to look back, see all the different and sometimes-crazy paths our life has taken, and find gratitude for the journey that brought us a place of peace and contentment.

    • karenrsanderson

      And I look at all the “troubles” I faced and now think, “That wasn’t any big thing, not really.” Age and experience means a lot. The journey was rough to be sure, but this place – ah!

  6. Karoline Stock

    Sounds like the perfect ending, Karen. Grandchildren are the best! I’m happy to be close to my kids and grandkids – wish I was closer (physically) to the newest grandson and his parents.

    • karenrsanderson

      It’s not just the grandchildren, though they are a big part. It’s my writing, my art, my lovely (finally decorated) apartment, my social life, a great job, going to college… It’s all so awesome right now. Better Anderson is in the states (and close) than in Europe!

  7. I’m just glad that broken road led to our friendship! I’m blessed to know you.

  8. Paul Billyk

    So glad you made it to your happy place.

  9. Loved this post. So glad you’re where you want to be now 🙂

  10. Audrey Keith

    At 7 I had herded cows a ways from home, poisoned gophers with oats and strychnine and spent countless hours just being a kid. I feel so sorry for the kids now, rushing from one thing to another, unable to deal with a couple of minutes of downtime & constantly connected. Never being alone would be hell, as far as I’m concerned. There are many people whose company I enjoy immensely, including yours, but to never have alone time–no way. I’m so glad you’ve reached a place where your life is so good. You are a wonderful person, and I feel privileged to know you.

    • karenrsanderson

      You struck a chord here Audrey. Our kids today (or grandkids)…connected but not really connecting. You are so awesome, and I am glad we connected here in ND. Can’t wait to see you again…hoping the weather holds and we can meet in Lansford soon.

  11. I’ve lived through chapters and books, poems and paintings, sadness and madness, I’ve felt pain and great overflowing feelings of happiness. I’ve searched for what I want to do with my life and have been struggling with doing just that, living it according to the surprises of each moment I am alive. I have the depths of love and the excruciating pain of loss. I would say we both have lived the lives we were meant to and will continue on the paths that open up before us.

Leave a Reply

