Guess I’ll go eat worms

Photo by Gwen Dubeau

Photo by Gwen Dubeau

Have you ever had a, “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, guess I’ll go eat worms” sort of day?

I am realizing more and more, as I grow older, that my state of mind – and the peace in my mind – is my own responsibility.

If I’m feeling down, I think inside the box. Are my down feelings my own fault? Did somebody do me wrong or were they just being peevish? Is my negative response to a situation my own problem or the problem of the offending person?

We can’t always feel chipper and ‘up’ and happy. Sometimes just feeling ‘okay’ is enough.

I also, at this stage in life, choose to appreciate every day I wake up. It sure beats the alternative.

I get ticked at people trying to manipulate me or my feelings, I get ticked if I’m feeling ignored, I get ticked if I’m not the central social butterfly I think I should be.

Oh, to hell with all that.

What I love most – spending time with the grandkids. But I can’t shove myself down their throats and be there every waking moment. I also love spending time with besties in Minot. Again, can’t be with them all the time.

I have to make my own way, make my own happiness, find joy is having my alone time, and be able to enjoy a day of reading and relaxing.

I can eat pizza for breakfast and eat breakfast for dinner and don’t have to explain that to anyone. That rocks!

I can walk out my front door on my way to anywhere and not have to explain that to anyone. Again – it rocks.

You married people are lucky – if you are happily married.

But us single peeps are lucky, too. Our time is our own selfish time. We wear pajamas all day and rarely shave our legs (too much information?). We don’t have to worry about our monster breath in the morning. We don’t have to worry about your laundry or your mess in the kitchen or bathroom. We worry only about ourselves.

So, come eat worms with me, will ya?

15 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles

15 responses to “Guess I’ll go eat worms

  1. I join you in a worm fricassee any day! 😉

  2. That’s a beautiful worm you’ve got there, Karen! I don’t think I’ll eat her, just enjoy her beauty. I agree with all you say here – our happiness is our own responsibility. And sometimes, it’s alright to not feel ‘up’ and joyful. Sometimes, cuddling in an easy chair with a good book and a bad mood on a cloudy day is just right too….

    • karenrsanderson

      Some of my most productive times are when I’m a little down and feel like typing, making art, tapping. All these things help me over the hump. A cloudy day is the best time to cuddle up with your easy chair.

  3. Love this, Karen. I needed this today so thank you!

  4. I’m right there with you, Karen. Haven’t eaten pizza for breakfast yet…er, yeah I have. Breakfast for supper a number of times. Picking what I want to eat, when, and where or not is absolute heaven! I’m not a jammies and slippers type, shave my legs once a season whether they need it or not, and attack the morning breath when I want to. And I haven’t munched on worms yet. Still enjoying my alone time too much!

    • karenrsanderson

      I eat many weird things at breakfast, and breakfast is my favorite dinner! Shave the legs whether they need it or not…that’s where I am! No worms were harmed in the posting of this blog.

  5. Karoline Stock

    Thanks for reminding me that I’m great just the way I am. I also enjoy, and have gotten used to, doing what I want, when I want! I try not to push myself on the grandkids too much. The time we spend together is the best, though. Thanks again for a great perspective.

    • karenrsanderson

      I agree on the grandkid thing…even though mine are in the same city all the time, I try not to invade that space. And I don’t want to be “that” mother-in-law, right? Yes, I love the time with my grands, but some of my best times are when I’m alone. I’m happy with myself – I’m pretty darn awesome just as I am.

  6. We all have days like this, single or with someone. The trick is to be OK with it and carry on. Well put Karen. ❤

    • karenrsanderson

      Some days I’m great with being alone, and others…not so much. But that’s when I pull up the big girl panties and say, “get over it and get on with it.”

  7. A great reminder to be in the moment, no matter what our circumstances are. And to nourish a sense of humor!
    PS… I had waffles for dinner just last week!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

