Whole lotta liking going on

IMG_2116Have you like noticed that like when you are like talking to like most people, that they like use the like word “like” a lot?

I like know what you’re like thinking.

Karen, are you liking kidding me? Is this like what you like want to like write about on your like blog?

Like yeah.

What the like is going on?

Like think about it.

Like, really like think about it.

The like next time you like think about it, like, listen to like people you are likeIMG_2115 talking to.

You may like say, “Well, like, Karen, you are like spending a lot of like time with like lots of like college-age like kids. Like yep. But…

It’s not like just the like younger generation. I’ve like noticed it with like all ages, like all walks of life, like just about like everybody!

Before long, like, we are gonna like have to like change the vocabulary of like all walks of like life.

We’ll have …

Like Tahoe

L. A. Likers

Like Skywalker

Likey Charms

Are you liking kidding me?

That would like be so liking annoying, like, wouldn’t it?

No. I’m not liking kidding you.

The like next time you like have a conversation with like anyone, like, think about it.

And like count the times they like say like the word “like.”

Can you like think of some like “like” substitutions for like other words or like common phrases, that like would like change the like vocabulary of like conversationalists?IMG_2118

14 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles

14 responses to “Whole lotta liking going on

  1. For the past while, I haven’t heard people around me using this type of like language. Frankly, it gave me a headache. 😀 😀 😀

    • karenrsanderson

      Oh it sort of gave me a headache writing it. And it gives me a headache listening to it all the time…some are worse than others…I stop hearing what they are saying and just start counting the “likes.”

  2. It makes the old “um…” seem downright erudite, doesn’t it?

  3. I’m not hearing a lot of ‘like’ in either my CA town or my MA town. But, I do find it interesting that the word we use to show approval on Facebook or LinkedIn or other social media is … LIKE. 🙂

  4. That was OK Like Karen but I think that’s about my daily limit for the use of the work except when I like a blogpost or something.
    xxx Mammoth Hugs xxx

  5. Like this is very funny!!

  6. I am so thankful that my 20-year-old grandson finally heard himself and has made an effort to ditch most of his use of that most annoying word. I’m with you, Karen…I get so distracted by the constant use of like that I don’t hear anything else the person is saying.

    • karenrsanderson

      I experienced it again today, too! And I’m glad your grandson was able to hear himself and is working on it. How did you do that? Record him? Because one of my grands is starting it!

  7. No exaggeration, Karen!!
    That must be the most overused word in the country.
    Unfortunately I do catch myself using it sometimes… Much to my chagrin.

Leave a Reply

