Which religion is it? Does it matter?

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.46.16 AM

Since the election in November, I’ve become connected with so many more diverse people than I ever thought possible. I’ve joined solidarity groups, marching groups, LGBT groups, science groups, and religious groups.

What I find the same in all these groups? They are all fighting for each other. They don’t care if you are male or female. They don’t care that you are a different color. They don’t care that you celebrate a different religion.

That’s what gave me the idea for this post. If I don’t label a religion, would you know which one it is?

And does it matter?

FIRST PERSON’S ANSWERS

How often do you pray? I pray five times a day. I am always trying to do it on time but sometimes say them a little later but do them.

What do you pray for? I pray because it is my obligation to God as He gave me life and its bounties and I am showing my appreciation for his generosity and mercy.  I pray for myself first for a healthy long life to be able to see my children settled and comfortable. I pray to be there to see their children, their successes and their happiness and for them to have long lives with good fortune, good health and right guidance.

How many people are in your organized prayer group? I do not go to organized prayers but pray at home by myself.

How often do you attend your organized prayer group? I only attend organized community prayers twice a year on religious festivals.

What does your religious group do for the community? My religious community where I live is not very active in the larger community.

Favorite inspirational quote:

This is from the Prophet’s final sermon. Not an actual quote and I’m parsing it “No man has superiority over another man, no white over colored, no Arab over non-Arab. A man’s superiority is only by his piety and his help to his fellowmen.”

SECOND PERSON’S ANSWERSScreen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.45.22 AM

How often do you pray? Almost daily.

What do you pray for? Family, church, country, known needs from our prayer group leader.

How many people are in your organized prayer group? About 90.

How often do you attend your organized prayer group? A minimum of weekly.

What does your religious group do for the community? Financial support to many religious groups. Volunteers for local thrift store. Food for local homeless. Occasional community meals. Adopt social service families during holidays. Collections for area food pantry. Just opening a weekly food pantry ourselves. Provide food and beverage for two of our town’s holiday events.

Favorite inspirational quote:

For yesterday is but a dream

And tomorrow is only a vision

But today, well lived,

Makes every yesterday a dream of happiness

And every tomorrow a vision of hope.

~Ancient Sanskrit writings

THIRD PERSON’S ANSWERS

How often do you pray? Depends on the day, but usually at least 5 times.

What do you pray for? I pray over my meals – asking God to bless them, and thanking him for the food; I pray for my children to be safe and to do well in school; I pray for people my Facebook friends ask for prayers for; I pray for friends and family who are ill or in dangerous situations, or struggling with something; I pray just to thank God for the blessings He’s given me; I pray that our house will sell; I pray for our country’s leaders and for my church leaders; I pray for my husband when he goes on business trips; I tell God that I’m frustrated with something, or I ask Him for help with something (even as simple as finding a book in the piles in my living room until we get bookcases built in our new house); basically I pray about anyone, and anything, and at any time of the day or night.

How many people are in your organized prayer group? Probably about 60 who are regularly active.

How often do you attend your organized prayer group? Every Sunday, and sometimes we meet during the week.

What does your religious group do for the community? We serve at clothing banks; we help people stack their wood piles (and split the wood if we need to); we help at the annual Labor Day Picnic with several other groups in the chicken dinner tent (serving food, setting up tables and chairs and taking them down, washing dishes); we help people who have been involved in disasters (flood clean-up; storm clean-up); we visit elderly people, house-bound people; we take meals to people who are ill or whose family members are ill.

Provide a favorite inspirational quote (does not have to be from a sacred text) Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.” (that’s not the whole verse)

COMMENTS FROM ONE MORE PERSON

I pray daily … my prayer is called ardaas.

It is a gratitude prayer from the Sikh faith, and I pray for “may there be peace, may we remember God’s name and prosperity for the whole world.”

Screen Shot 2017-02-20 at 10.44.10 AM

 

7 Comments

Filed under Personal Articles, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Which religion is it? Does it matter?

  1. Absolutely. And it’s so nice to see the symbol for the Baha’i Faith included. Thank you.

  2. Religions all have one central theme, I believe: LOVE. It’s amazing the similarities to them all. Your post is a wonderful reminder of that. We’re all searching for peace and love in whatever religion we’re practicing. xo

  3. A wonderful post. We all want the same things, love, peace, a happy family.

Leave a Reply

