When someone dies…a billion stops

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 8.45.01 PM

I sometimes wonder…And I wondered a lot when my Mom died…

Why didn’t the world stop?

But it did.

I was reminded of this just recently when my Uncle Jerry died. I hadn’t seen him much in 17 years (he lived in Delaware, I lived in New Mexico and now North Dakota and didn’t get “home” much), but I did see him two years ago.

And now, when he died, I thought, “Why don’t people stop?”

Why don’t people acknowledge his life?

But people did stop.

His wife stopped. His kids stopped. His grandchildren stopped. His twin brother stopped. His nieces, nephews, cousins, stopped. His in-laws stopped.

Everybody who read his obituary stopped. Everyone who had any cognitive recognition of him…stopped.

I posted his passing on my FB page, and friends who never met him stopped.

If even for just a moment, even for a blink of an eye, Uncle Jerry meant something to millions of people.

So, when you see a loved one’s passing. Stop. Take a moment. Imagine the loss. Imagine the love. Imagine the hole left from that person’s passing.

Just stop.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “When someone dies…a billion stops

  1. Perfect! Everyone who leaves us leaves a hole. We do need to stop and remember they were important in their way. Sorry to hear of the loss of your uncle. xo

  2. We all have allowed our lives to go round and round in circles, never stopping, rarely thinking of what all our activity means, sometimes even forgetting that what is most important is the people in our lives. The CONNECTIONS. And yes, when a connection is gone, we should stop. Think. Celebrate the life and the connection. Feel the pain of loss. Share the loss and stop. Remember. Love.
    So sorry for your loss of Uncle Jerry, Karen. I send you and your family a huge virtual hug.
    xo

  3. Karoline Stock

    Well said and very true. Many of us stop when someone dies and that’s the way it should be. Thinking of you and your family during this sad time.

  4. Karen, I’m sorry for the loss of your Uncle Jerry. It’s hard. A few days ago, early in the morning after my best friend’s husband died, I sat in her living room while she slept and looked out the window and thought about how inconceivable it seemed that the world was carrying on as if nothing had happened. I remember, vividly, having the same thoughts after the passing of my dad and my mom. Meanwhile, we pause, remember, grieve and celebrate the lives of those we love who have gone on. Blessings, my friend.

  5. audrey A keith

    Sorry about your uncle. So many people are leaving us now, and I suppose that will only continue as get older. Each one leaves a hole in our lives. Ihope you have happy memories to dull the pain a bit.

  6. karenrsanderson

    Thank you all.

  7. I’ve learned the holes that are left in our hearts by those who have passed are there so the light can reach in to heal our grief. We grieve because we loved and that’s a good thing. Blessing to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

